Yakabuski issues statement on gas tax program for transit

Editor’s note: Nipissing-Renfrew MPP John Yakabuski has today issued the following press release about how Ontario’s gas tax program helps to enhance and expand municipalities’ public transit systems. The Current suggests readers also read our recent editorial on transit which includes information about the Federal Gas Tax Rebate Plan. (Click HERE to read that editorial.)


PEMBROKE – Yesterday, Jeff Yurek, Minister of Transportation, and Parliamentary Assistant Kinga Surma announced that Ontario’s Government for the People is helping 107 municipalities across the province expand or improve their public transit systems with Ontario’s gas tax program. Yurek said,

We are investing in public transit to make it a more convenient travel option and attract more riders. More public transit will cut through gridlock and get people moving.

This year, the province is providing $364 million in gas tax funding to 107 municipalities providing public transit service to 144 communities across Ontario. These communities represent over 92 per cent of Ontario’s total population.

Funding for Ontario’s gas tax program is determined by the number of litres of gasoline sold in the province. The program provides municipalities with two cents per litre of provincial gas tax revenues. Municipalities receiving gas tax funding must use these funds towards their public transit capital and/or operating expenditures, at their own discretion, including upgrading transit infrastructure, increasing accessibility, purchasing transit vehicles, adding more routes and extending hours of service.

John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, said:

Our government is working to make life better for the people of Ontario. Through Ontario’s gas tax program, the City of Pembroke will receive $106,940 and the Town of Renfrew will receive $249,256 in funding this year to improve transit. This investment will help improve the daily commute for those who use transit to get around every day.


  • The share that each municipality receives under Ontario’s gas tax program is based on a formula of 70 percent ridership and 30 percent population. These funds serve both the needs of large and small municipal transit systems.
  • Municipalities that contribute financially to public transit services are eligible for funding. Municipalities not currently providing transit can become eligible for funding if they start up fully-accessible transit services.


Buttigieg, A. Ministry of Transportation (2019, Jan.9) Ontario’s Government for the People Investing in Transit in Renfrew and Pembroke [Press release]

Featured photo: Jed Villejo on unsplash.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *